9.1.4 Milestones of the Journey

1902-4

The Presbyterians put a uniting proposal to the Congregational Union and the Methodist Churches.

1940

Congregational Union, Methodist and Presbyterian churches set up Church Union Committees 1943

First Union Parish at Raglan. Partners: Congregational Union, Methodist and Presbyterian.

1949

Model Constitution for Union Parishes approved.

1948-49

Vote on Church Union between Methodist and Presbyterian churches.

1950

Joint Standing Committee on Church Union set up by the Congregational Union, Methodist and Presbyterian churches.

- Anglican Church sets up Commission
- Associated Churches of Christ become members of the Joint Standing Committee on Church Union.

1951

Congregational Union, Methodist and Presbyterian Churches each declared their willingness to accept members of the other two denominations

1956

Vote on principle of Church Union.

1960

Draft Basis for Union.

1964

Standard Agreement for Joint Use of Buildings

1965

Joint Commission on Church Union held first meeting.

1966

Joint National Committee on Church Extension held first meeting

Act of Commitment entered into by the five Partners.

Associated Churches of Christ agreed to join the arrangement for reciprocal membership

1970

Many Congregational Churches integrated with the Presbyterian Church.

1971

The Plan For Union 1971 published

1972

Guidelines for Forming a Cooperating Parish published

Referendum on *The Plan for Union*

1975

Glenfield Cooperating Parish inaugurated – first Anglican/Methodist.

First Consultation on Union and Cooperating Parishes.

1976

General Synod regrets that the Anglican Church can't enter into union.

1984

Negotiating Churches Unity Council formed combining JCCU and JNCCE

1989

Venturing Forward Conference held at Karori

1992

Conference of Cooperative Ventures at Upper Hutt.

Forum of Cooperative Ventures proposed

1995

1st Biennial Forum *Growing Together* at Kapiti.

Forum of Cooperative Ventures established to replace NCUC.

First Standing Committee of the Forum elected.

1997

2nd Biennial Forum *Living and Working in Unity and Diversity* at Tawa.

1999

3rd Biennial Forum *Together we Can* at Linwood

2001

4th Biennial Forum *Light on the Way* Hamilton.

Forum of Cooperative Ventures establish Website http://www.ucanz.org.nz/

2003

5th Biennial Forum *Community Centred Christ Focused at* Karori. The Forum of Co-operative Ventures changed its name to "Uniting Congregations of Aotearoa New Zealand" and the Chairperson was elected for the first time.

2005

6th Biennial Forum, *Braided Rivers* at Dunedin

2007

7th Biennial Forum, *Riding the Wave* at Upper Hutt

2009

8th Biennial Forum, Weaving Threads, Wanganui

2011

9th Biennial Forum, Beyond the Walls at Motueka

2012

Procedures for Cooperative Ventures 2012 approved by Partner Churches